Skip to content

Parkdale Market

May 9, 2011

Our local food and flower market officially opened this weekend, and I really wanted to go down and shoot some fresh veggies to compliment a session I’m doing this week with a local cafe. So off I went, 8.30 a.m. ready from some great local food but what I found was lots and lots of flowers.

Now don’t get me wrong. I love flowers, but after a few shots I needed to adjust my game plan. As I wandered around, before most customers were out and about I started to really notice the stall holders and think about where the real story of the market lay. Now, the obvious choice here would be to photograph the people, and that was what I wanted more and more to do, however I am a bit of an introvert so putting myself out there with people  is quite outside my comfort zone. Add to that a 50mm lens, which means you need to get close to your subjects meant that I would have to actually approach total strangers and ask if I could take their photo. Gulp…. But I took a deep breath and asked the first person I saw. And they said yes. And then another one did, and then another. Even the (few) people who were camera-shy were sweet about saying ‘no’ 🙂

It will never be easy for me to do this type of street photography, but it was a total adrenalin rush, and one I want to repeat. And I think, in the bigger scheme of things that documenting local life and those that make our communities what they are is something with weight to it.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 9, 2011 7:49 pm

    I LOVE these pics! I recognise many of my regular suppliers. Everyone looks so happy.

  2. May 12, 2011 12:33 am

    Kate, what a FANTASTIC way to record a day at the market! I can’t wait for our local markets to open… first one is tomorrow evening! Your post has reminded me to look around at the faces, not just at the wares.

Leave a Reply

